Frequent question: Why does Lightroom create duplicates?

How do I stop Lightroom from duplicating photos?

Yes, top right hand corner of the import dialog (you may need to expand panels) has an option to prevent duplicates.

Does Lightroom create duplicates?

When you experiment with editing and want to create a different version of your image, Lightroom creates a virtual copy instead of duplicating the image. The virtual copy is nothing other than a new set of editing instructions for the original image.

How does Lightroom identify duplicates?

Remember, that Lightroom and other software can’t actually scan the image graphically to identify if it as a duplicate so it relies on the file name, date and time stamp and metadata (exposure, lens, camera etc).

Why do I have multiple catalogs in Lightroom?

Why You Should Use Multiple Catalogs

If you have several clients that you work with on a regular basis, you can create a catalog for each one. This will make it easier to find what you’re looking for and keep you focused. Ease of Use: Lightroom offers many ways to keep your photos organized.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I become a full time illustrator?

How do I delete a virtual copy in Lightroom?

To Delete a Virtual Copy: When in the Catalog/Folder panel, tap Delete (Mac) | Backspace (Win) to delete (remove) a Virtual Copy (but not the original). When in a Collection, tap Delete (Mac) | Backspace (Win) to remove the Virtual Copy from the Collection.

What are virtual copies in Lightroom?

A Virtual Copy is an exact replica of the original photo, including all edits made in Lightroom. Once you have made a Virtual Copy you can process it any way you like without affecting the original.

Can you edit the same photo twice in Lightroom?

To duplicate a photo in Lightroom, right-click on your image and select Create Virtual Copy. This creates a duplicate version of your photo inside of Lightroom without duplicating the original file. You can now create a new edit for the virtual copy without taking up extra space on your computer.

Should I build smart previews in Lightroom?

When should you create Smart Previews? If you only ever edit your photos at home, and you always have the hard drive containing your Raw files to hand, there may be no need to build Smart Previews. It takes time for Lightroom to build them, and even though they are small, they do take up hard drive space.

Where do Lightroom imports go?

In other words, the images you import into Lightroom are located exactly where you chose to store them on your hard drive, USB drive, etc., and not in your Lightroom catalog. The relevant folder will appear with your image selected.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is pixlr as good as Photoshop?

How do I remove duplicates from Lightroom catalog?

Once you’ve finished sorting through the photos, it’s time to delete the duplicates. Select the All Photographs collection in the Catalog panel, then go to Photo menu > Delete Rejected Photos to delete them. They’re deleted from the hard drive, as well as being removed from the catalog.

How do I import duplicates in Lightroom?

If you’re copying or moving photos into the catalog, you can create a one-time copy, or backup, of the original photo files. In the File Handling panel on the right side of the import window, select Make A Second Copy To and specify a location.

How can I delete the same photo from a different name?

Delete duplicate files

  1. On your Android device, open Files by Google .
  2. At the bottom, tap Clean .
  3. On the “Duplicate files” card, tap Select files.
  4. Select the files you want to delete.
  5. At the bottom, tap Delete .
  6. On the confirmation dialog, tap Delete .

How do I make my Lightroom catalog smaller?

Keep standard-size previews as small as possible

  1. Choose Edit > Catalog Settings (Windows) or Lightroom > Catalog Settings (Mac OS), and then select File Handling.
  2. For Standard Preview Size, choose the amount that is closest to the longest edge of your screen resolution, but not shorter than it.

How often should you make a new Lightroom catalog?

To keep your Lightroom Catalog running smoothly, every once in a while you may want to optimize it. It is easy to do. Just go to File>Optimize Catalog. I typically only remember to do this every 6 months or so and Lightroom still runs fine for me.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you flip a vector in Photoshop?

How many photos should you have in a Lightroom catalog?

Depending on your computer’s processing power, a bloated Lightroom catalog could reduce your speed and efficacy. The past consensus is that once you’re over 10,000 images (or if you shoot over 10,000 a year) it’s best to start fresh with a new catalog.